Amplifier - Archives

Everyone Announced New Albums Today (Or At Least The-Dream and Chili Peppers Did)


View photo

To celebrate the conclusion of the terrible MTV Movie Awards, a whole bunch of artists revealed plans to release new music throughout the summer. (Note: It probably had nothing to do with the MTV Movie Awards.) First, after teasing fans for the past few weeks, Red Hot Chili Peppers finally announced details about their new album, the band's first since 2006's Stadium Arcadium. It's called I'm With You, and it's due out on August 30, 2011, roughly five years, two months, and 25 days since Stadium dropped. I'm With You continues the band's 20-year relationship with producer Rick Rubin, who first joined them in the studio for Blood Sugar Sex Magik. The album is also the first to feature guitarist Josh Klinghoffer in a starting role after taking over for John Frusiante. First single "The Adventures of Raindance Maggie" is out July 18th. Be thankful they didn't call the album Dr. Johnny Skinz's Disproportionately Rambunctious Polar Express Machine-head.

Next, the news that most excites The Amp: The-Dream returns with his fourth album in his Love series, this one titled The Love, IV (Diary of a Mad Man). Yeah, that title is a little unsettling because it reminds us of a Tyler Perry movie, but The-Dream's Love King topped our personal Best Albums of 2010 list. Title or not, we're excited for this when it drops on September 20th, The-Dream's birthday. According to Complex, Lil Wayne, Jay-Z, Kanye West, Drake, R. Kelly, Mary J. Blige, and, maybe, Dr. Dre all guest on Love IV. Amazing guest list, but one of the things that made Love King so great was its lack of visitors; only T.I. stopped by to contribute one verse. The-Dream is on one of the more impressive album streaks in recent pop history though, so we'll hold judgment until we hear it.

There will also be new Radiohead music this summer. Not the new music Radiohead fans have been clamoring for, though; these are just remixes, so we're only moderately enthused. Starting July 4th, Radiohead will be releasing limited edition 12" singles featuring two tracks apiece from the band's recent The King of Limbs. Rumors of a TKOL remix album have been floating around since Thom Yorke's buddy Flying Lotus made a passing comment about it, but the first single will find Caribou remixing "Little By Little" and Jacques Greene's take on "Lotus Flower." For those without a record player, the remixes will be available digitally as well.

Finally, Primus will release their first album in over a dozen years, Green Naugahyde, on September 13th. The less said about that one, the better.

View Comments