Amplifier - Archives

Lil Wayne’s All-Star and Probably Fake ‘Tha Carter IV’ Track List Revealed


View photo

The Amp usually avoids writing about "rumored track lists," even if it's for an album as anticipated as Lil Wayne's Tha Carter IV, unless there was some confirmation. But given the amount of marquee rappers that will supposedly appear on Weezy's comeback album, we couldn't ignore it. TC4 might feature Jay-Z, Kanye West, Gucci Mane, Nicki Minaj, Drake (twice!), Rick Ross (twice!), Swizz Beatz, the Game, Tech N9ne, and hip-hop's favorite new hook girl Bon Iver. That's an impressive guest list... if it's happening.

According to (via Complex), a Universal Music source leaked them the track list ahead of Tha Carter IV's May 16th release date. Which is a tale we hear before the release of every major hip-hop album. In some cases, they're accurate, in more cases, they're fakes, but here's one track list we're especially hoping is true.

Tracks like "No Competition" and "No Trust" have us believing this might actually be the real track list, since it fits with Wayne's recent motif of "No" songs like his Eminem collabo "No Love" and "No Ceilings." However, the article has plenty of double talk, mentioning songs like "Lustful," "Bigger Than Life," and "Too Sour" in their write-up of the track list, even though the songs don't appear on the track list itself. They mention Wiz Khalifa as a TC4 guest, yet he doesn't appear on any of the songs on the track list.

Then there's the fact that, unless Tha Carter IV is a double album, eighteen tracks seem a bit much for a single disc. Tha Carter III had 16 songs and clocked in at 76 minutes, the max of what one disc can contain, so the number of songs have us questioning the legitimacy of this track list. However, says a Universal source told them some of these tracks might end up as bonus tracks or mixtape-bound. Still, don't fall too in love with these songs and features until the track list is confirmed in the coming weeks.

Tha Carter IV, maybe:

1. "Tune This"
2. "Team Player (Feat. Birdman)"
3. "Fore Play"
4. "They Love Me (Feat. Drake & Nicki Minaj)"
5. "John (If I Die Today) (Feat. Rick Ross)"
6. "No Competition"
7. "Holy Grail (History) (Feat. Kanye West)"
8. "Carter Cash (Feat. Jay-Z)"
9. "6 Foot 7 Foot (Feat. Corey Gunz)"
10. "Play My Game (Feat. Tech N9ne)"
11. "Anne (Feat. Swizz Beatz)"
12. "Street Life"
13. "Hard Talk (Feat. Bon Iver & Game)"
14. "Fall From Grace (Feat. Eminem)"
15. "Brain Dead (Feat. Gucci Mane)"
16. "No Trust"
17. "Maybe She Will (Feat. Drake & Rick Ross)"
18. "My Legacy"

[Photo: Kevin Mazur/]

View Comments