Our Country - Archives

Sponsored by

The American Country Awards Announces Nominees For Its Second Year

Our Country

Country music's new-awards-show-kid-on-the-block, the American Country Awards, debuted in 2010 to mixed reviews (pros: lots of focus on new artists; cons: uneven production, redundancy). It's time for the ACAs to prove themselves again in 2011--here's hopes that the show has had a little more time to figure out a winning formula.

One thing that will definitely help: The list of awards nominees was announced on Thursday, and it's got the expected punch of fresh talent that made the show stand out last year.

First things first: The boys are leading the pack here. Jason Aldean and the Zac Brown Band boast the most nominations with eight nods each--and will be facing off against each other in the coveted Artist Of The Year and Album Of The Year categories.

The fairly new-to-the-scene duo Thompson Square follows with seven nominations, while the also-newish Band Perry and veteran Taylor Swift tie for six.

Other interesting names that popped up on the list: Craig Campbell, Jerrod Neiman, Miranda Lambert's "other project" the Pistol Annies, Chris Young, and this year's American Idol Scotty McCreery. A complete list of nominees can be accessed here.

Kristin Chenoweth is slated to co-host with Trace Adkins, so all in all, this promises to be a show offering things a little different from the expected. Fingers crossed that all technical and production-related snags have been ironed out for the sophomore presentation.

As fans may remember from last year, the ACAs are completely fan-determined. You can help choose the winners by casting your votes here. (You'll have to register onsite first in order to vote.) The poll will be open until November 11 in all categories except Artist Of The Year, which closes several weeks later on December 2. You're allowed to vote once a day, so get to it, and may all your favorites win!

The 2011 ACAs will be held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on December 5, and aired live at 8 p.m. ET on FOX.

As always, be sure to:

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Yahoo! Music on Twitter


View Comments