Our Country

Sponsored by

Early Winners Announced For 2013 ACM Awards

Our Country

View photo


Jason Aldean (Photo: Gary Gershoff)

Are you ready for the 2013 Academy of Country Music Awards? We are too--and some of the winners are already being announced! These awards will not be televised during the show's official broadcast due to time constraints, but there are quite a few names you're sure to recognize. Here's some of them:

The late Keith Whitley and the Judds received the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award, which honors individuals who are pioneers in the country music genre. This particular honor has a staggering list of legendary past winners, ranging from Johnny Cash to Garth Brooks.

Jason Aldean scored the Crystal Milestone Award, which is given to an artist to commemorate a specific, remarkable achievement. In Aldean's case, he is being recognized for his Night Train tour, which includes stops at historic ballparks including Boston's Fenway Park. Aldean sold out Fenway in 7 minutes and is the first country act to headline there.

Blake Shelton is the recipient of the Gene Weed Special Achievement Award, which acknowledges unprecedented, unique and outstanding individual achievement in country music--and, in this case, recognizes Shelton's television career as a star on The Voice, as well as his Christmas variety-show special on NBC.

Lady Antebellum were chosen to receive the Jim Reeves International Award, which is presented to an artist for outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world. Lady A performed to more than a million fans in 11 countries over three continents as part of their Own The Night world tour.

Guy Clark and Hank Williams (posthumously) were selected to receive the Poet’s Award, which honors songwriters for outstanding musical and/or lyrical contributions throughout their careers in the field of country music.

The 48th annual Academy of Country Music Awards will be broadcast live from Las Vegas April 7, at 8 p.m. ET/PT.

View Comments