Our Country - Archives

Sponsored by

Inaugural American Country Awards Nominees Announced

Our Country

Curious about the new country-award show on the block--the American Country Awards, which will debut in Las Vegas December 6? Well, two pieces of news for you: The nominees have just been announced, and you will be able to determine who wins by voting online for your favorites.

That's right; the ACAs are wholly fan-determined, so it's up to you to make the right choices--which artists, singles, albums, and music videos rocked your world over the past 12 months? That said, let's have a look at what and who made the inaugural nominee list.

The leaders of the pack (with seven nods each) are part surprising and part not--Lady Antebellum for the "not" part, being this year's cross-genre sensation and, unshockingly, up for the top title of Artist of the Year.

However, the other top-scorer, Easton Corbin, comes as a interesting breath of fresh air. He's nominated primarily in the several "breakthrough artist" areas, but also was recognized in the overall single and video of the year categories.

Following Lady A and Corbin with six nominations is another no-brainer, Carrie Underwood. The currently white-hot Miranda Lambert has five. 

Taylor Swift is noticeably behind with only three nods; however, they are all in major categories. Despite Lady A and Lambert being the flavors of the year, Swift's Speak Now is set to drop next week, and she's a force to fear when it comes to fan-determined power. There are few artists with a more loyal or active fanbase, and I'm willing to bet they're going to muscle her into a decent sweep of the evening.

Another refreshing change from the usual country-music award show mentality is the selection of artists chosen for the Artist of the Year category. With the exception of the Zac Brown Band, every nominee in the ACA top award category is female or contains a female artist--Lady A, Swift, Underwood, and Lambert.

Finally, country fans will be interested in the Touring Headline Package of the Year category--given that country is one of the few musical genres out there right now that's still selling out stadium shows, it's an especially apt new award for the ACAs to hop on. It also seems like a pretty tough choice to make in terms of determining a winner, as just about every notable tour is on the list: Swift, Underwood, Brooks & Dunn, Toby Keith, Martina McBride and Trace Adkins, Tim McGraw, Brad Paisley, Rascal Flatts, George Strait and Reba McEntire, and Sugarland. Don't say I didn't warn you on this one, but good luck in making up your mind.

Starting Monday October 18, fans can view a full list of nominees here and vote once a day in all categories until November 4--with one exception, the Artist of the Year category, which will remain open for voting until December 4.

The ACAs will air live on Fox from Las Vegas's MGM Grand Garden Arena starting 8 p.m. ET December 6. The two-hour special will include artist performances, celebrity comedians, and "some never before seen musical collaborations," but nothing specific has been announced yet. Stay tuned!

Will you be taking part in voting in the first-ever ACAs? Be sure to let me know!

As always, be sure to:

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Yahoo! Music on Twitter



View Comments