Stop The Presses!

Cool New Soundtrack: ‘Sucker Punch’ Delivers

Stop The Presses!

Soundtracks have always been a great way to discover a variety of new music from favorite artists tied together by a common theme. The music to the upcoming film Sucker Punch is no exception. It features a wicked and diverse lineup of artists covering familiar songs, alongside additional re-workings by the actors themselves.

Written and directed by Zack Snyder (300, Watchmen, Dawn of the Dead), Sucker Punch follows the story of a young girl institutionalized by her wicked stepfather. She retreats to an alternate reality as she tries to escape from the asylum, ultimately weaving a tale that blurs the line between fantasy and reality.

The soundtrack, two years in the making, is unlike any other. The Kills' Alison Mosshart teamed up with Autolux's Carla Azar on a version of The Beatles' "Tomorrow Never Knows," while Bjork delivers a remix of her 1995 single "Army of Me."  The soundtrack also includes a mash-up of Queen's "I Want It All" and "We Will Rock You."

If that's not enough, the characters in the film perform re-workings of classic tracks too. Carla Gugino performs a version of Roxy Music's "Love is the Drug" while Emily Browning covers the Eurythmics' "Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)," The Pixies' "Where Is My Mind," and The Smiths' "Asleep."

Sucker Punch hits theaters on March 25.
The soundtrack is available March 22nd. You can pre-order it from Amazon here.

 Watch the Trailer on Yahoo! Movies

See Alison Mosshart perform "The Good Ones" with The Kills:

View Comments