The Y! Music Playlist Blog - Archives

Indie Halloween Music

The Y! Music Playlist Blog

My obvious first choice for an Indie music Halloween playlist was "Do They Know It's Hallowe'en?" by the indie supergroup the North American Halloween Prevention Initiative.  The song was co-created by Islands and ex-Unicorns member Nicholas Diamonds, and was recorded using an ensemble that includes members of Arcade Fire, Rilo Kiley, Wolf Parade, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Beck, Sonic Youth, Les Savy Fav, Buck 65, Peaches and more. Profits from the single go to UNICEF, so you should really consider buying it if you have not already. Unfortunately, the song is no longer available on subscription music services, but you can check out the quirky video on YouTube.

You might think that when putting together a Halloween playlist based on genre, indie music would be difficult. Well, it really wasn't. There's a lot more darkness under the surface of the sensitive indie artist than you would think. This Halloween compilation starts with the Sufjan Stevens track "They Are Night Zombies!! They Are Neighbors!! They Have Come Back From the Dead!! Ahhhh!". The remaining 50+ minutes are filled with music by Matt Pond PA, Cat Power, Gorillaz, Ted Leo & The Pharmacists, Elf Power, TV on the Radio, Sonic Youth, Badly Drawn Boy, Eels, Jonathan Richman, Death Cab For Cutie and Of Montreal.

The Playlist:

1. They Are Night Zombies!! They Are Neighbors!! They Have Come Back From The Dead!! Ahhhh! - Sufjan Stevens

2. Halloween - Matt Pond Pa 

3. Werewolf - Cat Power

4. Dracula - Gorillaz 

5. I'm A Ghost - Ted Leo & The Pharmacists

6. I Walked With The Zombie - Elf Power

7. Let The Devil In - TV On The Radio

8. Halloween - Sonic Youth 

9. It Came From The Ground - Badly Drawn Boy

10. I Will Follow You Into The Dark - Death Cab For Cutie

11. My Beloved Monster - Eels

12. Vampire Girl - Jonathan Richman 

13. Chrissy Kiss The Corpse - Of Montreal 

View Comments